TUDOR ORACY PROJECT AT GABALFA PRIMARY SCHOOL, CARDIFF

Sept-Oct 2017

This four week project was run twice weekly. We had an amazing time helping the year 4 children to learn even more about the Tudor times.  We physicalised court etiquette and questioned the treatment of Henry’s queens. The pupils loved the range of games linked to the Tudors which improved collaboration, persistence and oracy skills. The pupils hot steated Anne Boleyn and they considered the reasons why people choose to be on Henry VIII’s side! Our work culminated in a trial with groups playing Henry, Anne, Lords, Ladies and Clergy as single characters, offering multiple opinions. Costumes were provided and the children enjoyed a celebration ‘banquet’ as a finale.

“We were delighted to work with Page to

Stage Wales.  They understood what we needed

to achieve and even the shyest of our pupils engaged.”

Mrs Sandford. Year 4 teacher.

KINDNESS WORKSHOPS AT THE GATE IN ROATH, CARDIFF

Oct 2017

We were employed as part of the Made in Roath Festival to consider the quote, ‘When you have more than you need, build longer tables not higher walls.’  We felt it was important to offer both young people and adults access to these workshops which touched on wellbeing and kindness so ran separate 3 hour sessions.  As a group, we told stories of acts of kindness done by us or by others towards us. We dramatised elements of the stories through a range of techniques and employed music, movement and text work.  Our participants said they felt more positive as they left and all planned to keep on committing the little acts of kindness which mean so much!

“The pace of the workshop was great. The range of games, improvisations and the monologue activity meant I got to work with different people and I felt well supported as well as challenged.”

Adult participant at The Made in Roath 2017, Acts of Kindness workshop.

SHAKESPEARE WORKSHOPS AT VICTORIA PRIMARY SCHOOL, PENARTH

Oct 2017

With the year 5 pupils, we ran Shakespeare workshops which began with a 30 minute performance of monologues and scenes from some of Shakespeare’s best known works and was followed by participatory workshops which allowed all to gain confidence and understanding.  Having attended RSC workshops previously, we were able to pass on exercises that the Judy Denches of the world employ!

“Thank you for the wonderful Shakespeare workshops.  The children were inspired by the performances and it was super to hear the children confidently speaking the text by the end of the sessions.”

Mrs Price. Year 5 teacher.

DRAMA WORKSHOP 8-15 YEARS AT CHAPTER ARTS CENTRE, CARDIFF

Nov 2017

We ran a fun and informal drama day for young people workshopping physical theatre, mime and improvisation.

 

“The improv games made me have to think fast. I think I will be more confident at speaking in front of people after today.”

 

 10 year old participant.

CILLA AND CAMILLA’S CHRISTMAS COFFEE CLUB AT LLANOVER HALL, CARDIFF

Dec 2017

Having previously written, produced and acted in a play based on verbatim interviews with women over the age of 40 about the positive impact of support networks based around tea, coffee and cake, we felt it was the right time to return to Cilla and Camilla's Coffee Club. For this festive outing, we were delighted to write for and perform with a talented group of actors at Llanover Hall. All profits were donated to Macmillan Cancer Support.

"You made me laugh but also reminisce about the people I miss at this time of year." 

"We enjoyed the songs and the poems.  Silly and funny in one!"

Feedback from audience members

HENGOED AND HOME PROJECT AT HENGOED PRIMARY SCHOOL, CAERPHILLY

Jan-April 2018

As part of the Arts Council of Wales’ Lead Creative Schools project, we worked alongside visual artist Gigi Jones to help foster confidence, oracy skills, community engagement and an understanding of the personal and social history of Hengoed. We visited the local care home to sing with the residents and to ask them about their childhood memories.  The pupils made a range of artworks including collages of finds from the school grounds and wire framed dolls of local friends and family members. The children enjoyed a range of games to improve listening skills, concentration and collaboration as well as learning drama techniques and bringing to life some of the stories they heard. The children made short films and documented their learning in photos, drawings and written pieces.  The project culminated in a celebration event with the children guiding school and community members around exhibits, videos and drama presentations.

‘That’s the most fun I’ve had in ages!’  

7 year old participant.

AFRICAN ADVENTURES STORYTELLING PROJECT AT RINGLAND PRIMARY, NEWPORT

March 2018

Alongside storyteller and practitioner Bevin Magama, we helped the year 3 class at Ringland Primary to bring to life the animal stories they had been telling.  We facilitated mask and tail making in school and made a range of costumes and props, presented in a story bag. We supplied material to create African backdrops and we collaborated with the children on a series of incredible trees made from recycled materials as part of their set design.

 

“I don’t want this to end.”  

7 year old participant.

"I have had the pleasure of working with Sarah and Serena as a Creative Agent for the Arts Council of Wales Lead Creative Schools programme. They are a highly effective creative team and bring all the Creative Habits of Mind to life in an exciting and enthusiastic way that delights the pupils. Their imaginative approaches are inspirational and it would be fair to say that they bring very much more to a project than would be expected."

Tom Maloney - Creative Agent

WWII PATHÉ NEWS PROJECT - GAER PRIMARY SCHOOL

October 2018-January 2019

After a successful collaboration at Hengoed Primary, we again teamed up with artist and filmmaker Gigi Jones to help the year 5 pupils understand what happened to British evacuees during WW2. We played games to encourage performance skills, researched the times and studied written and filmed propaganda messages.  We had fun imagining war time recipe reels, role playing as different characters and learning war time songs. The children learnt how to write scripts for film and how to storyboard considering camera shots. The children became filming units with crew and actors collaborating.  They enjoyed selecting costumes and green screen acting. Finally, their films were edited and proudly shown at our celebration event for friends and family.

"I’ve been in plays before but I’ve never written a script from the beginning

then performed it with costume and everything."

 

Year 5 participant.

"They loved the sense of humour you brought into the project and they all recognised how much their confidence and collaborative skills had developed."

Amy Doughty - Creative Agent

A VICTORIAN MYSTERY! - FLEUR DE LIS PRIMARY SCHOOL

October 2018-December 2018

The year 5 and 6 pupils were encouraged to approach narrative writing from a drama perspective for their Lead Creative Schools project.  We took the exciting setting of 1851’s Great Exhibition as a backdrop and told candle lit stories to spark imagination. We learnt about the exhibits through physical theatre and soundscaping then the learners played exhibitors in our ‘Big Sell’ oracy challenge.  Together, a story about the theft of the Koh-i-noor Diamond developed and the learners role played as ‘Bobbies’ and possible culprits.  We took an ‘out of our seats’ approach to language games such as the simile game, preposition searches as well as mime games to encourage original adverb and verb choices.  The group came up with a plot for our mystery through freeze framing and each participant wrote their own mystery, incorporating many of the exercises we had developed.  The group held a Victorian Fayre to celebrate all they had learnt and we produced a book of their short stories as a legacy.

"There are drama exercises I will keep doing with my classes now I know they work."

Mr Butler - Class teacher

AFRICAN ANIMAL STORIES - BEAUFORT HILL PRIMARY SCHOOL

October 2018-March 2019

As part of a creative team, we led games, drama and craft sessions based on the topic of African Animal Stories for year 3 at the school.  The learners enjoyed movement sessions to embody African animals and we facilitated small group devising of new stories such as ‘How the Lion Got its Mane.’ The learners created their own mythical creatures with us in collage form and made masks so that they could perform their stories in front of family and friends.  We helped the children with the performance skills and made costumes ready for their celebration event.


"Is it ending?  But we’ve had so much fun."

Year 3 participant

WOODLAND EXPLORERS - RISCA PRIMARY SCHOOL

January 2019-April 2019

For this Lead Creative Schools project we helped the learners in year 1 to create collages with materials that we all gathered on a forest walk.  We then physically began to imagine being the animals and nature in the woodlands.  We ran games and movement sessions and then worked as storytellers.  We created the character of a resilient little mouse with a love of storytelling which led to the children telling their own tales.  We helped them to make glove puppets and they all designed a house for mouse and friends which led to the creation of a willow structure in their play area which they made along with the artist Mel Bastier.  We made an imagination bag and filled it with puppets so that they can continue to help Little Mouse and friends to play and tell stories.

"The children really enjoyed themselves and I loved learning new games to improve oracy and listening skills."


Mrs Farley.  Year 1 Teacher.
 

RINGLAND PRIMARY SCHOOL

January 2019-March 2019

We had fun working with reception children in their learning journey garden thinking about animals and how we can be kind to nature and to one another.  We  sang with the children and played team games then used puppets to allow the children to role play and develop storytelling. As well, we introduced them to drama concepts such as physical theatre and freeze frames.

"I love this (puppet).  I’m going to be its friend."

Reception participant

 

"We wish you could come back every Monday morning. Amazing to see the progress and increase in confidence and engagement"

Mrs. Isidoro. Reception Teacher
 

DEMENTIA FRIENDS PROJECT AT YSTRAD MYNACH PRIMARY SCHOOL

April 2019-July 2019

Having received training from an Alzheimer's Society 'Dementia Friends' volunteer, the year 5 pupils and Page to Stage Wales have welcomed members of the community with dementia and their close family and carers to be part of an intergenerational sharing project.  
With the support of Caerphilly Arts Development, we have run weekly sessions incorporating discussion, song, movement, games, craft and drama. The mutual benefits have been clear to see; we have laughed and cried, discovered much common ground and sort reassurance and understanding by spending time in one another's company.

"The sessions are delivered with professionalism, enthusiasm and heart. Page to Stage Wales has successfully combined elements of drama, music and creativity to engage both the young people and the visitors to the school who have dementia to create heartwarming sessions that have led to unexpected connections, empathy and understanding between all the participants. Most of all there is fun and laughter and everyone leaves the sessions with smiles on their faces. It has been a pleasure to be involved in this project and I hope more of this work can continue in the future."

Bethan Ryland. Arts Development Officer for Caerphilly Council

WELLBEING FOR SENIOR MANAGEMENT - CLOWNING WORKSHOPS @ INSPIRE CONFERENCE, CAERPHILLY

June 2019

We were very pleased to offer deputies and headteachers a chance to unwind, laugh and also be challenged by the philosophy of clowning. Receiving offers, being in the moment, taking risks and embracing failure are just some of the clowning principles we enjoyed exploring with our participants. 

 

"In being asked to do something new, something out of my comfort zone, I was mindful of how the children at my school might feel."

Deputy Head Participant.

WOW WEEK AT YSTRAD MYNACH PRIMARY SCHOOL

July 2019

Ystrad Mynach Primary provide a week of extra curricular activities for their pupils to be shared and enjoyed with their families. We were delighted to be invited in to run drama games and activities for all the year groups in the school. It was wonderful to see the children encouraging their parents, grandparents and carers to get involved. 

 

"I liked it when my mum volunteered with me."

 Workshop Participant

INSET - DRAMA IN THE PRIMARY CURRICULUM

September 2019

Staff from Nant y Parc Primary, Risca Primary and Ystrad Mynach Primary showed real creative bravery as we invited them to consider how drama can be embedded in all aspects of the curriculum during our afternoon session on the first day of term. 

 

"I wish all INSET was like this!"

Workshop Participant

CHAPTER ARTS CONFIDENCE THROUGH DRAMA

September 2019-November 2019

For this 8 week project we teamed up with Chapter Arts Centre to offer children from 3 primary schools in the local area the opportunity to make new friends, learn games and immerse themselves in imaginary worlds created through play. Each week we explored different themes with the aim of increasing the children's confidence and oracy skills.

 

We were also able to support the schools' teaching assistants as they experienced different approaches to group work.

"Thankyou for the fantastic workshops.  It has been a joy to watch all the children becoming more confident and creative week by week."

Mrs O’Reilly - teaching assistant.

DEMENTIA FRIENDS PROJECT AT NANT Y PARC PRIMARY 

October 2019-December 2019

We were delighted to again team up with Caerphilly Arts Development to deliver a 7 week intergenerational Dementia Friends project between year 4 pupils and members of the local community and care home. We found so much in common by sharing stories, singing songs, devising drama and enjoying craft activities.

 

"I can’t tell you what it has meant to meet with these wonderful children."
Adult Participant.

 

"I have learnt...people with dementia can still have a nice time and keep those feelings."
Year 4 Participant.
 

IMG_20200627_232645.jpg

BARRY MAKING WAVES

January 2020 Onwards

We have been delighted to be part of the Heritage Lottery Fund, Great Place Scheme exploring Barry's rich history and future plans.  As a community engagement branch of the project, we interviewed (pre lockdown!) individuals and groups of people from the Barry area to find out about their social history and connections to Barry.

 

We then turned those interviews into transcripts for posterity and are now working with actors via Zoom to create a play about what Barry means to its residents and how the future may look. It has been a joyful and poignant journey and we hope to perform and workshop the piece post lockdown.  

WhatsTheStoryTwitter.png

WHAT'S YOUR STORY

March 2020 Onwards

The wonderful Cardiff based charity Exercise for All approached us to reach out to people with physical disabilities during lockdown.  We have launched a social media project to capture vlogs, stories, works of art, poetry and a whole host of other creative outlets in films inspired by the work of Company Three.

 

The films are a time capsule of life during lockdown with the aim of revealing the person first, disability second.

IMG_20210422_110851.jpg

THE FILMING OF OVER MILLWOOD

Throughout 2021

As part of our community outreach with the Heritage Lottery backed Barry Making Waves scheme, we were able to turn our play 'Over Millwood', based on Barry residents' stories, into a film. From young carers to lifeguards and window dressers, the stories are a testiment to Barry's dynamic and diverse community.

 

Along with film maker Steve Johnson of Dragon Fruit Films, we cast Barry community members in roles and had a wonderful time filming scenes (in accordance with covid protocols).

 

The film has been edited and a composer is currently working on the soundtrack. The film will be shown in public venues in Barry so watch this space for updates!

image (7).jpg

WIZARD OF OZ WORKSHOPS AT ST JOHN THE BAPTIST CHURCH IN WALES

July 2021

We were delighted to be invited to St John the Baptist to lead workshops for the whole of year 7 and 8 during their Expressive Arts week. With 'The Wizard of Oz' as stimulus, we developed a series of workshops which explored wellbeing and our participants unique characteristics by considering the individual strengths of Dorothy and her plucky companions.

 

We even managed some forum theatre as the pupils improvised everyday difficult scenerios then used bravery, logic and kindness to resolve issues.

'It was fun to act out the scenes and see how different people had thought about things.'

Year 8 participant.

WORKSHOPS AT ST PETERS

July 2021

It was a joy to work with year 2 pupils over several days. We took the theme of journeys to amazing places and whilst playing games, sharing stories and responding to music, the children demonstrated great imagination and teamwork.

'The children really enjoyed it.'

Mrs Mesoud. Teacher.

image (6).png

CONNECT 2 CREATE

June 2021 onwards

An offshoot of the lockdown project What's Your Story? Share. Connect 2 Create is a lottery funded project which allows disabled people opportunities to connect on zoom with others whilst participating in a range of creative workshops. We project manage along with our partner, Exercise for All and create films to promote and document the monthly workshops.

image (8).png

SCHOOL HOLIDAY ENRICHMENT PROGRAMME, BRIDGEND

July & August 2021

With the support of Cadw, we offered holiday workshops over 3 weeks at Bridgend schools for pupils in years 5 and 6. We used drama games and techniques to have fun, encourage confidence and collaboration whilst exploring our participants' connections to local history and their communities.

'Thankyou for making this so awesome for us.'

Year 6 participant.